Monthly Archives: March 2017

Courtney Kenny Award Final Result 2017

The final of the Courtney Kenny Award 2017 took place at Tonbridge School on Sunday, March 12th and the expectant audience was treated to some fine performances from the five finalists.

We are grateful to the head teacher and music staff at Tonbridge School for the use of the music facilities and to the judges, Richard Suart, Patricia Williams and Anthony Dawson. We also thank all of the participants who took part in the competition and who are helping to further the aims of the AESS.

Sarah Leonard was on hand to introduce the proceedings and Courtney Kenny awarded the prizes.

Richard thanked the entrants for their well thought out thematic programmes and the amount of work that had gone into their preparation.

The standard of the final was exceptionally high and the judges decided to make the awards in the following order:
1st Prize £1,000 Renee Michaela G Fajardo
2nd Prize £500 Hope Lavelle
3rd Prize £500 Lydia Jane Haynes
Pianist’s Prize £500 Hunter Mabery

Many congratulations to them and our thanks to all the singers and pianists who took part in the final.

As always, our thanks go to Courtney Kenny for his generosity in funding this competition
Anthony Dawson, Richard Suart, Cournety Kenny, Hope Lavelle, Renee Michaela G Farjardo, Lydia Jane Haynes, Patricia Williams, Hunter Mabery
The entrants

Sarah Leonard (left) with the judges and entrants

The programme cover and recital details: