Monthly Archives: May 2016

The Fell Prize for Musical Theatre Final Result 2016

On Sunday, May 8th, the 4th Fell Prize for Musical Theatre, took place at the Sylvia Young School.

Sarah Leonard gave a short address of welcome to all present and introduced the adjudicators, Marcus Savage and Pip Minnithorpe.

The 19 entrants competing for the prize of £1000 were drawn from the Royal Academy of Music, the Royal College of Music, Royal Central School of Speech and Drama, Royal Academy of Dramatic Art, National Youth Music Theatre, Italia Conti Academy, Mountview Theatre School, London College of Music and the Guildhall School of Music and Drama.

The competitors were between 18-25 years old, of any nationality and in full time training or preparing for a career in Musical Theatre. They were required to perform a song and a scene/speech as a sequence in the original English which could come from any source and be presented in any order. The programmes had to be less than six minutes in length.
The prize was awarded to Jess Peet from the Royal Academy of Music for a very moving and sincere account of You Took Advantage of Me with interwoven sections of Woman’s Monologue – Bash by Neil Labute which impressed the judges and audience alike.

Congratulations to her and our thanks to the other singers for helping to promote the ideals of the AESS. Many thanks too to our official accompanist Roger Davison who provided expert and sensitive support from the keyboard.

Members of the AESS added to an audience of friends and family supporting the performers as they contributed to an interesting and varied afternoon.

Many thanks to the judges for their expertise.

We thank the Sylvia Young School for allowing us the use of their premises.

Thanks also are due to the co-ordinators, Jean Hornbuckle and Jane Roberson.

The AESS is pleased to be associated with the Toni Fell Trust in presenting this prize. Visit:
Some of the competitors with judges, Marcus Savage – Musical Director of MAMMA MIA! and Pip Minnithorpe – Freelance Director


The judges with the winner Jess Peet.IMG_2242


The Judges, Marcus Savage and Pip Minnithorpe, expound their thoughts on the vital ingredients to a successful performance in musical theatre.


AESS Fell Prize for musical Theatre Previous Winners