Monthly Archives: March 2016

AESS Courtney Kenny Award Final Result 2016

The final of the Courtney Kenny Award 2016 took place at Tonbridge School on Sunday, March 6th and the expectant audience was treated to some fine performances from the six finalists.

We are grateful to the head teacher and music staff at Tonbridge School for the use of the music facilities and to the judges, Courtney Kenny, Julia Dewhurst and Mark Nixon.

Thanks to Michael and Judith Hildesley for the use of the studio facilities at Tagg’s Yard during the preliminary round and to Judith for acting as a judge.

We also thank all of the participants who took part in the competition, thereby helping to further the aims of the AESS.

The standard of the final was high and the overall standard of the speech element was considered much improved on previous years.

The judges decided to make the awards in the following order:
1st Prize £1,000 Leilani Barratt
2nd Prize £500 Caroline Taylor
3rd Prize £500 Louisa Stirland
Pianist’s Prize £500 James Orford and George Todica (Joint award, £250 each)

Many congratulations to them and our thanks to all the singers and pianists who took part in the final.

As always, our thanks go to Courtney Kenny for his generosity in funding this competition.

Look out for news of the Patricia Routledge National English Song Competition 2016 which will take place on May 22nd and 25th (final starts at 6.00pm) at the Guildhall Schopol of Music & Drama.

The Fell Prize for Musical Theatre takes place at the Sylvia Young Theatre School on May 8th.

Go to the competitions page of the AESS website for more information.

Sarah Leonard – Chairman
The singers, pianists and judges



The Prize Winners with Courtney Kenny
From left: Leilani Barratt, Caroline Taylor, James Orford, George Todica, Louisa Stirland