Monthly Archives: May 2008

The Final of the Patricia Routledge National English Song Competition – May 14th 2008

The 25th Final was held at the Royal Academy of Music on Wednesday 14th. May at 7.30pm. The AESS was immensely honoured that the Final was graced by the presence of Her Royal Highness The Duchess of Gloucester. The panel of judges was Rosamund Shelley (Chairman), Marie Hayward, Betty Roe, Stephen Varcoe and Mark Wilde. The winner of the first prize of £1000 was Elisabeth Toye from the Royal Academy of Music. The Guildhall School of Music and Drama provided the second and third placed singers, Benedict Nelson and Duncan Rock, who won £500 and £250 respectively, and also the accompanist prizewinner Elizabeth Rossiter who won £250. Thanks are due to Patricia Routledge for continuing to fund the prize, to the RAM for all their help with the evening and to Stephen Miles the co-ordinator of the competition for the AESS.