AESS Prizewinners Concert – London Song Festival 2019

The Prize Winners Concert
took place on Thursday November 23rdat Hinde Street Methodist Church, Hinde Street London W1. 

 It was one of the concerts in The London Song Festival organized by Nigel Foster. 

The performers were 
Matilda Wale, soprano – Junior Recital 1st Prize winner
Annabel Kennedy, mezzo – Courtney Kenny Competition 1st Prize winner
Laurence Williamson , bass-baritone– 2nd Prize winner in the Patricia Routledge National English Song Competition
Cameron Richardson-Eames – accompanists prize in the Patricia Routledge National English Song Competition
They had devised an excellent programme loosely around the theme of this year’s London Song Festival concerts about ‘Outsiders’, outsiders in love, outsiders in society and outside reality.

As there was no prize- winning actor available for this concert the singers also read several poems each. 

These, included The Men that don’t fit in by Robert W Service and James Berry’sOutsiders. There were songs by Haydn, Vaughan Williams, Rebecca Clarke, Michael Head, Elgar, Howells and Berthold Goldschmidt. 

The joint 1st prize winning songs from our Composers Competition were given their world premiers.

Annabel Kennedy sang Requiescat by Luciano Williamson accompanied by Cameron Richardson-Eames, and Brian Parsons sang Still Glides the Stream by Owen Ho, accompanied by David Pollard.

 It was a very enjoyable concert, and the performers sang and spoke magnificently.“ I was left wanting more…” said one audience member to me.  The AESS is very grateful to Nigel Foster for enabling us to showcase our superb prize-winners, and we wish them every success in the future. 

The Programme: Nov 21st – AESS/LSF concert
Matilda Wale – soprano (Catherine Lambert Junior Recital Prize)
Annabel Kennedy – mezzo (Courtney Kenny Award)
Laurence Williams – bass-baritone (Patricia Routledge National English Song Competition)
Cameron Richardson-Eames – piano (Patricia Routledge National English Song Competition)

Introduction Robert W Service (1874 – 1958) – The men that don’t fit in

 Outside Love
Joseph Haydn (1732-1809) and Ann Hunter (1742-1821) – My mother bids me bind my hairEdward Thomas (1878 – 1917) Rain
Ralph Vaughan Williams (1872-1958) and Robert Louis Stevenson (1850-1894) – In Dreams (Songs of Travel)
Rebecca Clarke (1886-1979) and W B Yeats (1865-1939) – The Cloths of Heaven
Ralph Vaughan Williams and Robert Louis Stevenson – Wither must I wander? (Songs of Travel)

Outside the City
Ralph Vaughan Williams and Robert Louis Stevenson – The Vagabond (Songs of Travel)
Michael Head (1900-1976) and W H Davies (1871-1940) – Sweet chance that led my steps abroad
W H Davies – The Likeness

Prize winning entries from the 2019 Song Writing Competition for Composers (sponsored by the Thompson Educational Trust)
Brian Parsons tenor David Pollard piano 
Owen Ho – Still Glides the Stream (Matthew Arnold)
Luciano Williamson – Requiescat (Oscar Wilde)


Outside SocietyJames Berry (1924-2017) – Outsider
Ralph Vaughan Williams and Mabel Dearmer (1872-1915)(after Paul Verlaine) – The Sky Above the Roof
Edward Elgar (1857-1934) and Lord Tennyson (1809-1892)– Queen Mary’s Song (Seven Lieder)
Mary Queen of Scots (1542-1587) – Fotheringay 

Outside Contentment
Herbert Howells (1892-1983) and Walter de la Mare (1873-1956)– King David
Joseph Haydn and William Shakespeare (1564-1616)– She never told her love
Outside Reality
George Spaulding (1864-1921) and William Benson Gray – The Volunteer OrganistMargaret Atwood (b1939) 
Michael Head and Bronnie Taylor (1921-1991) – The Singer
Berthold Goldschmidt (1903-1996_ and James Elroy Flecker (1884-1915) – The Old Ships
Rebecca Clarke and John Masefield (1878-1967) – The Seal Man 

The AESS is very grateful to the London Song Festival for making space for this concert showcasing the enormous talent of our young competition winners, and to the Thompson Educational Trist for sponsoring the Composers Song Writing Competition. 

The prize winnig performers with Brian Parsons and the joint winners of the song writing competition