Patricia Routledge National English Song Competition 2019 Final Result

The Patricia Routledge National English Song Competition 2019
Final Result
The final of this year’s Senior Prize took place at St Marylebone Parish Church and the AESS is
grateful to the Rector and his staff for their help and support. Thanks too to the Director of Music,
Gavin Roberts who is an AESS committee member. 
A record number of people attended the final and they greatly enjoyed the five singers and their
pianists who performed twenty minute themed programmes of English art songs, poetry and prose of their own devising.
Former winner, Barbara O Neill, explained how the judges arrived at their decision and what they
were looking for, particularly an ability to inhabit the material at hand and convey the full emotional gamut to the audience.
Dame Patricia commended everyone for the hard work of planning and rehearsing the
programmes. She spoke of the need to be able to work spontaneously with a new and sometimes
difficult acoustic.
Chariman, Sarah Leonard, announced the winners:
First Prize of £2,000                            Milly Forrest
Joint Second Prize of £1,000 each    Siân Dicker & Laurence Williams
Pianist’s Prize of £1,000                     Cameron Richardson-Eames
Congratulations to them and thanks to everyone who entered the competition for helping the AESS in its core aim which is ‘to encourage the communication of English words, in singing and speech, with clarity, understanding and imagination’.
The programme: 1 & 2
Barbara O Neill addresses the performers and audience
The performers, judges and Dame Patricia
With Dame Patricia from left: Rachel Fright, Hayley Swanton, Peter Edge, Milly Forrest, Cameron Richardson-Eames, George Ireland, Siân Dicker, Laurence Williams, Jonathan Jarvis

Our thanks to the judges of both rounds:

Jane Roberson, Patricia Williams, Sarah Leonard

Sally Burgess, Julia Dewhurst, Barbara O Neill, Stephen Gutman, Brian Parsons

Thanks to Lynda Morgan for her practical help

The Co-ordinator is Stephen Miles