Monthly Archives: June 2017

The Patricia Routledge National English Song Competition 2017

The AESS Senior Prize Final, The Patricia Routledge National English Song Competition 2017
took place at the London College of Music on Wednesday, May 31st.

This was the first time that the competition was held at thhe LCM and the AESS is grateful to the Director and Staff for their generosity and support in loaning the use of their facilities.

Chairman, Sarah Leonard, welcomed the audience and introduced the evening.

Ten singers and pianists performed five twenty minute themed recitals of their choosing, using poetry, prose and English song which the enthusiastic members of the audience greatly enjoyed.

The judges, Samuel Evans, Nigel Foster, Stephen Varcoe and Jonathan Courage were impressed by the variety and strength of the performances and awarded the prizes accordingly:

1st Prize of £2,000 Becca Marriott – Soprano

2nd Prize of £1,000 Katy Thomson – Soprano

3rd Prize of £1,000 Corinne Cowling – Soprano

The Accompanist’s Prize of £1,000 John Cuthbert – Piano

Dame Patricia Routledge spoke about her own experience as a young singer learning to enunciate clearly under the tutelage of a demanding singing teacher. She acknowledged her admiration of the dedication of all of the performers as they strove to fulfil the remit of the competition.

Former winner, Samuel Evans, spoke about the judging criteria. Communication was the watchword for the judges among other considerations.

Sarah Leonard presented the awards.

The AESS is extremely grateful to Dame Patricia Routledge for her long association with and generous sponsorship of the Senior Prize.

The Director and Staff of the London School of Music, including Ivor Flint. Esther Sheridan, Alice Auer
The Judges of the preliminary round: Barbara Alden, Nicola Margarita Harrison, Brian Parsons
Colin Drage – Treasurer
Stephen Miles – Co-ordinator

The AESS hopes that all the singers and pianists found the competition to be a valuable experience in developing their artistic and performance technique.

The AESS thanks them for helping with its core aim ‘to encourage the communication of English words, in singing and speech, with clarity, understanding and imagination’.

The perforrmers and judges


Plus Dame Patricia Routledge

Judge and former winner, Samuel Evans explains the judging criteria

The prize winners: Corinne Cowling (3rd), Becca Marriott (1st), Dame Patricia Routledge, Katy Thomson (2nd), John Cuthbert (Pianist’s prize)

The programme. Click on the links below: