Monthly Archives: June 2015

Unsung Heroines – Sunday, September 27th



Unsung Heroines

Sunday, September 27th

Wroughton Theatre, King Edward’s School, North Road, Bath BA2 6HU

11.00a.m. – 5.30p.m.

As part of the occasional series of concerts Unsung Heroes’, the Association of English Singers & Speakers

presents a study day and concerts exploring the women composers who have contributed to the English Song repertoire.

Featured composers include Betty Roe, Rebecca Clarke, Liza Lehmann, Amy Woodforde Finden, and others.

Requests for tickets and any other enquiries about the events should be addressed to Patricia Williams at

Open to the general public.


11.00 a.m.  A workshop for young singers aged 13-18 on the songs of Betty Roe.

1.30 p.m. An informal concert of Betty Roe songs given by AESS members and their pupils.

3.00 p.m. A concert featuring women composers of the past including Frances Allitsen, Amy Beach, Rebecca Clarke Teresa del Riego, Rosalind Ellicott, Amy Woodforde Finden, Amy Horrocks, Liza Lehmann, Caroline Maude, Maude Valerie White.

How to get there

The map below shows the location of the Wroughton Theatre at King Edward’s School, North Road, Bath, BA2 6HU.  


The Fell Prize for Musical Theatre, Sunday, June 7th at the Sylvia Young Theatre School, Central London

The AESS Fell Prize for Musical Theatre was held on Sunday, June 7th at the Sylvia Young Theatre School, Central London

On Sunday, June 7th, the 3rd Fell Prize for Musical Theatre, took place at the Sylvia Young School.

Sarah Leonard gave a short welcome to all present and introduced the adjudicators, Rosamund Shelley and Michael Dore.

Entrants drawn from the Royal Academy of Music, the Royal College of Music, E15, Royal Welsh College of Music & Drama, Mountview Theatre School, Millennium and West End Masterclass competed for the £1000 prize.

Competitors were between 18-25 years old, of any nationality and in full time training or preparing for a career in Musical Theatre. They were required to perform a song and a scene/speech as a sequence in the original English which could come from any source and be presented in any order. The programmes had to be less than six minutes in length.
The prize was awarded to Christopher McGuigan of the Royal Academy of Music.

Congratulations to him and our thanks to the other singers for helping to promote the ideals of the AESS.

Members of the AESS added to an audience of friends and family supporting the performers as they contributed to an interesting and varied afternoon.

We thank the Sylvia Young School for allowing us the use of their premises.

Thanks also are due to the co-ordinators, Jean Hornbuckle and Jane Roberson.

The AESS is pleased to be associated with the Toni Fell Trust in presenting this prize. Visit:

The nine competitors with judges, Rosamund Shelley and Michael Dore


The worthy winner, Christopher McGuigan, with the judges


The Patricia Routledge National English Song Competition on Wednesday, May 13th at Trinity Laban, Greenwich

The AESS Senior Prize

The Patricia Routledge National English Song Competition 2015

The Final took place on Wednesday, May 13th at the Trinity Laban Conservatoire for Music & Dance.

Chairman, Sarah Leonard, welcomed the audience and introduced the evening.

Five singers sang a twenty minute themed recital of their choosing using poetry, prose and English song which the enthusiastic members of the audience greatly enjoyed.

The judges, Julia Dewhurst, Nigel Cliffe, Gavin Roberts and Jonathan Courage were impressed by the variety and strength of the performances and awarded the prizes accordingly:

1st  Prize of £2,000  Rhiannon Llewellyn – Soprano

2nd Prize of £1,000 Richard Moore – Bass-Baritone

3rd Prize of £1,000 David Jones – Baritone

The Accompanist’s Prize of £1,000  Peter Foggitt

Patricia Routledge was on hand to present the awards and we thank her for her support of this important competition.


The Director and Staff of Trinity Laban

The Judges

Susan Field – Treasurer

Stephen Miles – Co-ordinator

Nigel Cliffe announces the winners

Nigel Cliffe announces the winners

David Jones (3rd) receives his cheque from Patricia Routledge

David Jones (3rd) receives his cheque from Patricia Routledge

Richard Moore (2nd)

Richard Moore (2nd)

Rhiannon Llewellyn (1st) also accepts a cheque on behalf of her pianist, Peter Foggitt, who won the accompanist’s prize

Rhiannon Llewellyn (1st) also accepts a cheque on behalf of her pianist, Peter Foggitt, who won the accompanist's prize

David Jones, Rhiannon Llewellyn, Patricia Routledge, Sarah Leonard, Richard Moore

David Jones, Rhiannon Llewellyn, Patricia Routledge, Sarah Leonard, Richard Moore


2015 AGM & Annual Dinner, Sunday, April 12th

The 2015 AGM & Annual Dinner took place at the Royal Overseas League in St James’ on Sunday, April 12th. 37 people attended the AGM (both members and friends) and there were more than 55 diners to listen to the highly amusing and poignant entertainment provided by Courtney Kenny. The address was given by Hon President, Sir Thomas Allen who shared his thoughts on commitment and communication in performance.

The main business of the AGM was to bid farewell and to thank retiring Chairman, Graham Trew who has faithfully served the AESS for ten years in the position. The Chair-elect, Sarah Leonard, was duly instated as Chairman and we wish her well as she leads the organisation to pastures new.

Carol English was also elected to become the new Secretary.

Read the Chairman’s Report here

Read the AGM Minutes 2014 below

AESS AGM Minutes 2014 amended by 2015 AGM (13.5.15)

Read the draft AGM minutes for 2015 below

AESS AGM 2015 draft minutes 22nd January 2016

Read the AESS Trustees Statement 2015 below

AESS Trustees Statement 2015

Courtney Kenny entertains


Members of the committee with Graham Trew and Sarah Leonard

2015-04-13 09.28.06

Graham Trew holds forth


Sarah Leonard holds forth


Sir Thomas holds forth


From Left: Lady Allen, Graham Trew, Patricia Routledge, Sir Thomas Allen